Open Spaces Society OSS 150th Year
Join OSS Today!
OSS AGM 5 July 2018 at Friends House, London    We welcome 25-year environment plan but environment act needs to secure its success     Remember a charity in your will    Visit our online shop to JOIN or RENEW your membership    Support our Appeal for Lost Commons    Our tool-kit to save open spaces
Игровые автоматы на реальные деньги на сайте

Vice-Presidents and Trustees

The Open Spaces Society has its headquarters in Henley-on-Thames in Oxfordshire. It has some 2,000 members throughout England and Wales.

It has a volunteer network, with members called ‘local correspondents’.


David (Lord) Clark, Len Clark, Mike Clarke, Paul Clayden, Roger de Freitas, Tony (Lord) Greaves, Richard Mabey, Edgar Powell and Ronald Smith.


Graham Bathe (Chairman)

Graham has 40 years’ experience in access and countryside, working for government agencies, local authorities and charities in Britain and overseas. He led English Nature’s work on CRoW Act from passage in Parliament to implementation, reconciling access and wildlife on 500,000ha of SSSI. 2005-2011 he spearheaded Natural England’s work on the Commons Act. Graham served on Wildlife and Access Advisory Group, National Countryside Access Forum, Defra’s Commons Act Project Board, and New Forest and Hampstead Heath committees. He is Communications Manager of the Foundation for Common Land.

Phil Wadey (Vice-chairman)

phil-wadeyPhil joined the OSS in 2004 to support the work on greens, commons and rights of way. Phil specialises in rights of way historical research and enjoys adding paths to the definitive map (63 recorded so far). He brings skills to the Board from running large projects and from extensive board-level work in a range of organisations, including the charitable sector. He was OSS vice-chairman from 2005-2010. Amongst his aims are an expansion in the number of local correspondents and new forms of membership to create the additional funding for expanded services.

Diane Andrewes

Diane has been an OSS member for more than 20 years and is a former trustee.

Relevant memberships: Ramblers’ Association, National Trust, English Heritage, Bursledon Rights of Way & Amenities Preservation Group. Parish councillor and footpath officer for 10 years. Former district councillor and parliamentary candidate. Particular OSS interests: village greens, PROW claims, public hards, lost ways, national coastal path. Relevant activities: campaigning, research, community development.

Hilary Hunt

An obstructed footpath was the first photo Hilary took as a child; the right of public access has been “in her blood” ever since. Her long experience of networks, campaigning and lobbying, stems from working in industry and NGOs, including Amnesty International and as a VSO volunteer, and community campaigns. A well-informed, active volunteer membership is essential for any campaigning NGO. Past responsibilities include: Belizean NGO Board; Belize Centre for Human Rights Education co-founder; VSO trainer and selector; UNESCO UK’s Education sub-committee; Maidstone BC Standards Committee; Secretary, local Neighbourhood Plan Steering Group. Hilary became an OSS life member in 2014.

John Lavery

John-LaveryJohn is a retired Defra lawyer with expertise in countryside law. Between 2004-2007 he was principal legal adviser on common land and greens. He was involved with implementation of the Countryside and Rights of Way Act 2000 and worked on the Bill team for the Commons Act 2006. He was also principal adviser on Rights of Way. Since retiring he has assisted the OSS with legal issues, including the Growth and Infrastructure Act, which overhauled procedures relating to the registration of greens.

Jean Macdonald

Jean-3 Jean’s professional career included teaching in secondary schools and further education; providing advice to schools and colleges on the use of technology; project management and consultancy. She has worked with people with disabilities to support them to become more independent, most recently as part of the Guide Dogs for the Blind “My Guide” programme. She has also been a parish councillor and school governor. She is a member of a Ramblers’ working party which carries out footpath maintenance. She is an enthusiastic walker and gardener.

Mary Traynor

Mary is the Local Correspondent for South Lakeland District and has been a keen walker of the Lakeland Fells for 40 years. She has particular interests in communal land ownership, access, nature conservation and the preservation of biodiversity. Currently Mary is employed as the Executive Editor of a plant science journal (Journal of Experimental Botany) and has been a passionate driver for open access to the scientific literature.

Steve Warr

Steve-WarrSteve is a Chartered Accountant who spent his career in the banking industry. He brings considerable experience of operating at Board level to the role of Treasurer.

He lives in north Oxfordshire and has had an interest in village greens for many years.